18th AIAMBT 2016 at MNIT Jaipur

Malviya Regional Engg. College, Jaipur, now known as MNIT has had an age old tradition of respecting and honouring their Professors. In fact they even organise an all India level basketball tournament in memory of their late principle Prof. R M Advani, namely AIAMBT

The tournament was started in 1975 and was regularly conducted annually. All the big players in the Indian circuit have had played in the tournament.

An Electronic Score Board made by the student of MREC (mainly Vinesh Sharma and Pradeep Chamaria) was also installed during 1982. This was the first electronic scoreboard ever used in a basketball tournament in India.

Some how due to unforeseen circumstances the tournament was discontinued a few years back. But with efforts of s few alumni, a few who were the organisers of the first ever AIAMBT – restarted the event in 2013 and this year again – they are organising AIAMBT at MNIT campus in Jaipur from 2nd March 2016 to 6th March 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


18th AIAMBT (All India Advani Memorial Basketball Tournament) which commenced its journey in the year 1975 will be organized this year from 2- 6th March, 2016 in the affectionate remembrance of the late Principal of Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur Prof. R.M. Advani. Prof. R.M. Advani, joined Malaviya National Institute of Technology (then Malaviya Regional Engineering College) as professor and became Head of the Department of Civil Engineering.

The spirit behind the tournament being the love and affection of professional students towards the Guru and the non-profit nature of the event became a motivation for some of the best national level teams for participating in the tournament year after year. The tournament has received massive media coverage and praise by the Basketball fraternity for the quality of matches and the hospitality extended by the students to all teams and officials. Young engineering students, despite their tough curriculum burn their midnight oil to ensure excellence in every organizational aspect of the Tournament. The legacy is continuing with professional basketball teams (08- men and 06-women) like ONGC, IOB, Indian Air force, Punjab state Team, Kerala State Electricity Board, Southern Railways, Bilaspur state Team committed their participation in the tournament.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s